Pet Shop Boys Unveil ‘Loneliness’ Single from ‘Nonetheless’ Album

by Patria
Pet Shop Boys

Iconic duo Pet Shop Boys, comprised of Neil Tennant and Chris Lowe, have treated fans to a sneak peek of their latest single, ‘Loneliness,’ extracted from their forthcoming album ‘Nonetheless.’ The duo, renowned for hits like ‘West End Girls,’ have reintroduced an orchestral element to their music, collaborating with producer James Ford for the album scheduled to be released on April 26. This new offering follows their 2020 release, ‘Hotspot.’

Premiering the track on the BBC Radio 2 Breakfast Show with Zoe Ball on Wednesday morning (31.01.24), Neil Tennant shared insights into the creative process behind ‘Loneliness,’ noting that a substantial portion of the album was composed during lockdown. He emphasized that while every track incorporates an orchestra, the album maintains a melodic essence. Tennant stated, “It’s a very melodic sort of album; our last three albums have been strictly electronic, and this one we’ve gone back to using an orchestra but also, of course, with electronics.”

Enthusiastic fans who opt for the 2CD and double white vinyl deluxe editions of ‘Nonetheless’ will be treated to a bonus four-track EP titled ‘Furthermore.’ This special edition includes new recordings of Pet Shop Boys classics, such as ‘Heart,’ ‘Being Boring,’ ‘Always On My Mind,’ and ‘It’s a Sin.’

In addition to the album release, the duo has announced a five-night residency at the prestigious Royal Opera House scheduled from July 23 to 27. Neil Tennant expressed his excitement about the venue, stating, “It’s great because the Royal Opera House is a very important venue for the arts, but a lot of people I think never get to go into it. And so one of the reasons why we like to do it, and one of the reasons they like us to do it is that it’s a totally different audience – so you can go in there, you can have the smoked salmon sandwiches and the champagne and you sit in the red velvet, but you get pumping electronic music rather than Puccini or something.”

The anticipated tracklisting for ‘Nonetheless’ is as follows:



‘Why am I dancing?’

‘New London boy’

‘Dancing star’

‘A new bohemia’

‘The schlager hit parade’

‘The secret of happiness’

‘Bullet for Narcissus’

‘Love is the law’

related articles

Dive into the enchanting world of music at, your ultimate destination for discovering new and diverse sounds. From emerging artists to timeless classics, embark on a musical journey that transcends genres and captivates your senses.

Copyright © 2023