The Ivors with Amazon Music Announce 2024 Winners at London Ceremony

by Patria

Today, the winners of The Ivors with Amazon Music were announced at the annual awards ceremony held at Grosvenor House, London. Celebrating its 69th year, the event recognized 26 songwriters and composers across 14 categories for their exceptional achievements in songwriting and screen composing.

RAYE Named Songwriter of the Year

RAYE was honored as Songwriter of the Year with Amazon Music. Judges described her as having “the voice of a generation,” recognizing her as one of the UK’s premier songwriters. This accolade comes after a remarkable year following the release of her debut album, My 21st Century Blues. RAYE, a vocal advocate for songwriters, has also written for notable artists such as Charli XCX, Little Mix, Beyoncé, John Legend, Ellie Goulding, and Zara Larsson.

Bruce Springsteen Inducted as Ivors Academy Fellow

In a historic moment, Bruce Springsteen attended to receive the Fellowship of The Ivors Academy, presented by previous Fellow and close friend, Sir Paul McCartney. Springsteen is the first international songwriter to be inducted into the Fellowship in the Academy’s 80-year history, honored for his significant contributions to songwriting and his impact on the UK’s cultural landscape.

Best Album Awarded to ‘Black Classical Music’

The Best Album award went to Black Classical Music, created by Yussef Dayes, Rocco Palladino, and Charlie Stacey. The judges praised the album for its compelling narrative and modern take on instrumental music, marking a notable achievement for the burgeoning London jazz scene.

Lana Del Rey Honored with Special International Award

Lana Del Rey received the Special International Award, celebrating her influential career and exceptional songwriting. With six UK number one records, her impact is widely recognized, including by fellow honoree Bruce Springsteen, who considers her one of the best modern songwriters.

Best Contemporary Song: ‘Geronimo Blues’

The award for Best Contemporary Song went to Kwake Bass, Peter Bennie, Biscuit, and Raven Bush of Speakers Corner Quartet, alongside Kae Tempest, for “Geronimo Blues.” The track was lauded for its exceptional lyrics and marked the first Ivor Novello Award for these songwriters.

Victoria Canal Wins Best Song Musically and Lyrically

Victoria Canal, the 2023 Rising Star Award winner, was recognized with Best Song Musically and Lyrically for “Black Swan,” alongside Jonny Lattimer and Eg White. Canal’s live performance at the ceremony highlighted the track’s lyrical and musical complexity.

PRS for Music Most Performed Work: ‘Sprinter’

Dave, Central Cee, Jo Caleb, and Jonny Leslie won the PRS for Music Most Performed Work for their hit “Sprinter,” the UK’s biggest song of 2023. Dave and Central Cee have previously been nominated for Songwriter of the Year, with Dave winning in 2022.

Skepta Receives Visionary Award

Skepta was honored with the Visionary Award with Amazon Music, recognizing his fearless creativity and influence in reshaping popular music. His groundbreaking work continues to inspire and redefine the genre.

Rising Star Award Goes to Master Peace

The Rising Star Award with Amazon Music, now in its fifth year, was awarded to Master Peace. His songwriting was commended for its intelligent genre blend and showcased his ambition and promise.

Bernie Taupin Receives Outstanding Contribution to British Music

Esteemed songwriter Bernie Taupin received the Ivor Novello for Outstanding Contribution to British Music. This marks his ninth Ivor Novello, 50 years after his first win for “Daniel” with Sir Elton John. Taupin’s extensive career includes writing for diverse artists such as Starship, Heart, Willie Nelson, Courtney Love, and Brian Wilson.

KT Tunstall Honored for Outstanding Song Collection

KT Tunstall received the Outstanding Song Collection with PRS for Music award, celebrating her 20-year career and exceptional songwriting talent. This recognition comes 18 years after her first Ivor Novello Award for “Suddenly I See.”

Screen Composition Awards

In the screen composition categories, Jerskin Fendrix won Best Original Film Score for Poor Things, praised for its creative collaboration. Arthur Sharpe claimed Best Television Soundtrack for The Following Events are Based on a Pack of Lies, marking his second win after Landscapers in 2022. The Best Original Video Game Score was awarded to Stephen Barton and Gordy Haab for Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, noted for its exceptional execution.

related articles

Dive into the enchanting world of music at, your ultimate destination for discovering new and diverse sounds. From emerging artists to timeless classics, embark on a musical journey that transcends genres and captivates your senses.

Copyright © 2023